We’ve all seen it. We’ve all heard it.

The movement started officially on September 17, 2011.

Now, it’s October 30, 2011 – the movement’s 46th day of operation.

Well, it was about time. I’d delayed in visiting the park for many life reasons, I’m sure.

But just like many in the country, I’d been keeping up with the happenings in and around Occupy Wall Street (#OWS) as much as possible (mostly through Online methods). After all, the channels in recent weeks had been covering the protests in more earnest, compared to the beginning of the movement.

And today was my first day of physically visiting Zuccotti Park (which I’d visited many many times prior to the occupation). I left the apartment early and was there for the shoot by 745AM.

Of course, was a Sunday and being an ‘off’ day for all of the protagonists in this dance, it was very quiet (well, except for the throngs of tourists).

The first thing that greeted me was the chill (although seemed colder as I landed in lower Manhattan). The air was cold. The prior day’s October snow storm was still evident in the early air.

That’s ok. I was prepared for the weather- decked in down coat and in layers with gloves and winter hat.  But what I wasn’t ready for, was how the Occupiers were dressed and waking up from the frigid night’s cold.

I was impressed. They certainly were a tough group of devotees.  There wan’t a shortage of commitment in this group, for sure.

And more impressive was that it was a mix of age groups, all huddled together and with individual responsibilities within the encampment. There was a full “HQ” style food distribution station with very basic foods (i.e. bananas, apples, simple breads, nuts, etc.), duties for sanitation & clean-up. As well as people who were very knowledgeable and very kind to persons like myself.

Well, I intend to visit the location several times this week. Hope to continue talking with some of the group members, other activists, and other photographers, as well- to see where they stand and to just shoot the breeze.

And I’m sure because it’s now the weekdays, there should be better action to capture.

All images copyright mediaform jasonkim photograph